Emma Neale has been appointed as the new editor of Landfall, published by Otago University Press.   Neale, who lives in Dunedin, has published six novels and five poetry collections, and edited several anthologies.   She is a former Robert Burns fellow (2012) and has received numerous awards and grants for her writing including the […]

The New Zealand Poetry Society 2017 International Poetry Competition Results out now. See full judges comments. Open Section judged by Cilla McQueen First Place: ‘After the Cyclone’ Alexandra Fraser, Auckland Second Place: ‘Sea Glass’ Margaret Moores, Auckland Third Place: ‘Seeing Red’ Nicholas Williamson, Christchurch Open Junior Section judged by Joanna Preston First Equal: ‘hidden figures’ Joanna […]

Looking for poetry action near you? Here’s our list of poetry events, workshops, groups, and readings that happen regularly in venues throughout New Zealand.

Saturday December 2. The brilliant programme is outlined below. All events are free. Some events need you to book for you and/or your children. You can book through www.wls.org.nz, or ring 06 379 4080 or call in at the Carterton Library

Join us to celebrate the new poetry collection by Tony Beyer on Tuesday, 7th November. Anchor Stone by Tony Beyer is a collection of substantial new work by a senior and critically successful New Zealand writer. It addresses issues relevant to contemporary concepts of New Zealand identity and culture.  “Tony Beyer has never followed signposts; […]

The Poetry Book Society was founded by T S Eliot in 1953 to ‘propagate the art of poetry’ and has an illustrious history of discovering the best new contemporary poets. In our new Student Poetry Prize we’re looking for talented student writers and emerging new voices who will go on to be the next generation of Poetry Book […]

Latest Competitions: The Bolton Poetry Competition | Closing Date: 03-Nov-17 Returning for 2017, an exciting poetry competition with three winning categories. The first is an open entry for the pub… Alder Hey Poetry Competition | Closing Date: 17-Nov-17 Alder Hey has launched a poetry competition inviting members of the public to submit their own poems exploring the theme… […]

2017 ABR Calibre Essay Prize Entries are open for the 2018 ABR Calibre Essay Prize, one of the world’s leading prizes for a new essay. We look for original and unpublished non-fiction essays of any subject between 3,000 to 6,000 words, written in English. The judges are Andrea Goldsmith, Phillipa McGuinness, and Peter Rose. Entry fees are AU$15 for ABR subscribers […]

Otago University Press Media Release FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 6 NOVEMBER 2017 Kapiti poet Alison Glenny has won the 2017 Kathleen Grattan Award with ‘The Farewell Tourist’, a poetry collection inspired by a visit to Antarctica. She receives a $10,000 prize and a year’s subscription to Landfall, and Otago University Press will publish her collection in 2018. Glenny says she wrote an initial draft […]